top of page

It Doesn’t Get any Better Than This!

Updated: Oct 27, 2022

Often I’m blessed to bring a family member with me on my adventures to Haiti. This trip however I was fortunate to bring my daughter-in-law, Kristin and her two oldest, Caitlyn and Micah. It just doesn’t get any better than this!


They brought rubber band bracelets with them and before long all of the children in the village were wearing their bracelet, I wore mine too. Some had a bunch in a row, travelling up their arms. It was a great way to break the ice with the children, so before long all three were visiting village homes hand in hand with other children in the village. Micah played hours of dodge ball while Caitlyn had her hair braided and was busy braiding other girl’s hair.


Kristin helped me with the never ending task of getting the names and ages of those living in each house and some of their needs. She was able to find out if the children were going to school and whether or not their basic needs were being met. With that information we can then provide needs like food or bedding and perhaps help their children get into school.


We were even able to take a hike through a wooded valley and were accompanied by many of Caitlyn’s and Micah’s new found friends. We then hiked up the side of a steep hill to the top where we were able to see the village below and the beauty of God’s creation beyond the hills to the ocean. We met Haitians working in their fields and one old, barefoot lady that was concerned for us as we climbed the hillside. It is a special treasure for me when I can share the joys of the mission field with my family.


It just doesn’t get any better than this!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page